Easter.

Look, I know that Easter is a Christianising (or a Catholicising) of a pagan festival. As is Christmas. Yes, there is nothing in the Bible to suggest that we should commemorate the birth or death & resurrection of the Lord Jesus. We are enjoined to gather together as often as we will to remember Him wia bread and wine.

However. True as it may be that there is not much left of a Christian ‘tradition’ to Easter or Christmas I think it is a good thing – concentrating on Easter at the moment – that we still have a chance to put it out there that Christ Jesus died for our sins – all of our sins – and rose from the grave having been victorious over death.

I like chocolate eggs and bunnies etc. There is an underlying sentiment of renewal and rebirth, and this is definitely part of the Christian message. Being ‘Born again’. Dying to sin. A new life in Christ Jesus. And so on . . .

Let us grab hold of all the opportunities we have, whilst we still have them. Let’s not take them for granted, as we have been wont to do, previously. The world is no more a Christian-friendly place than Mars anymore; and is becoming less so by the passing of days and weeks.

My Easter this year was not good. Too many slippages and back-sliding. Not enough praying or praising. The world and all it’s foibles and all that is considered to be important these days grinds me down. I give up. I give in. It all seems so hopeless at times. 

I have not the first idea when The Lord will come back again, and neither do any of these so-called experts who are coming out of the woodwork. What I do believe, tho’, is that it cannot be much longer now. Is this going to be the last Easter we had?

Leave a comment