Straight Pride

So, what does it mean? Well, we hear so much these days about how proud people are to be gay. They have embraced it with all their being. They want to shout it from the rooftops; and society wants us to agree with them and celebrate with them.

download

Well, I’m straight! I’m not gay!! I like the opposite sex!! I married a lady!!! I love her to bits! I’m proud to be straight!!!!

Do I agree with the gay lifestyle? No, I don’t. Do I hate gay people? No, I don’t. Do I understand the gay lifestyle? No, I don’t.

I had no choice, I believe, when it came to choosing whether to be straight or gay. I am naturally this way. Do, I believe that this is the way that God intended everyone to be? Yes, I do. Is everybody this way? No, they are not.

I’ve been wondering recently if Christians are putting a bit too much emphasis on this. After all there is a lot of sin in this world. There are a lot of people – EVERYONE – sinning on a daily basis. Me included. Do Christians care as much about all of the sin in the world, the evil in the world? Are we concentrating on what is perceived to be a more serious sin to the detriment of people’s eternal salvation?

A Scripture comes to mind –

  • Matthew 7:3-5 New King James Version (NKJV)

    And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

This is not to say that we should not be pointing out error if we believe that someone is doing wrong. However, we should making sure that we are right with God firstly.

Unlike what some idiots would preach, God does not hate anyone. He hates the sin that affect us all on a daily basis, and wants us to bring this to Him.He would like us to be following Him to the best of our abilities, and asking Him to help us when we fail. He would like us to keep his Word to heart.

  • Proverbs 3:5-6 New King James Version (NKJV)

    Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    And lean not on your own understanding;
    In all your ways acknowledge Him,
    And He shall direct[a] your paths.

     

TBC . . .

Leave a Reply

